Date and Time

Wednesday, March 6, 2024
3:00 p.m. to 3:45 p.m. Eastern
2:00 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. Central
1:00 p.m. to 1:45 p.m. Mountain
12:00 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. Pacific

Register Here


About the Program

Much has happened in the 10 years since our national Wage and Hour Litigation Practice Group wrote ALM’s authoritative Wage & Hour Collective and Class Litigation treatise. We are excited to continue our informative webinar series to discuss—in bite-sized increments—the past decade’s most important changes to the federal and state employee pay litigation landscape.

The standards for determining independent contractor classification and joint employer status are in a constant state of flux, both at the federal and state levels. With the proliferation of “gig” work and staffing arrangements, businesses are faced with heightened uncertainty as to what, if any, actions they can take without creating liability under federal and state wage laws. And the Department of Labor’s inconsistent efforts at rulemaking on these topics have only further increased that uncertainty. 

Join our panel as they explore the rules governing worker classifications under the FLSA and state laws, and also highlight the related question of a business’s potential liability for wage-hour law violations as a joint employer.

Our Wage & Hour Collective and Class Litigation treatise, published by ALM Law Journal Press, is widely recognized as an authoritative resource on the subject and is commonly used by lawyers, judges, and academicians in researching the many complex and evolving procedural and substantive defense issues that may ultimately determine case outcomes. 

Get your copy here.

Speakers

Andrew M. McKinley, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Pamela L. Vartabedian, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Eric M. Lloyd, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Kelly J. Koelker, Senior Counsel, Seyfarth Shaw LLP


If you were unable to attend our previous sessions, you can find recordings and materials available at the links below.

Time Well Spent: 10 Years of Wage & Hour Wisdom and What’s on the Way

Time Well Spent Session 2: Shifting Standards of Conditional Certification

Time Well Spent: Session 3: Certification and Decertification

Time Well Spent Session 4: Arbitration of Wage-Hour Claims

Time Well Spent Session 5: Exemptions and Responses